When I grow up.

Bob Dylan’s got a new album, swine flu is spreading and Pontiac is being phased out. Good news and bad, I just can’t imagine my pre-teen years without aspirations of one day owning a Trans Am or Fiero. Laugh all you want, but Smokey and the Bandit combined with a steady stream of television advertising made Pontiac a really cool brand in the mind of a nerdy kid in Kansas in the 80s.

Now that we’re city dwellers and I own six bicycles and zero vehicles, I suspect I’ll never get behind the wheel of a Firebird or Fiero. I suppose it’s time to learn that dreams don’t always come true.

Leave a Reply

