The changing of things.

When I was a kid, my dream car was a ’69 Camaro SS. Many of my friends, obsessed with European sport’s cars like Lamborghinis and Ferraris, made fun of me and called me white trash. But I stuck to my convictions and wound up driving a ’68 Impala all through high school and college. About twice as long the Camaro I’d always lusted for, my Impala was at least in the same league. I highly doubt any of those little jerks with their walls covered in Countashes and F40s ever drove anything close.

But I was out in the neighborhood yesterday with Jez and overheard something I could hardly believe. Three boys, around the age of 10, ran across the street in a big hoard. They had their eyes on something, but I couldn’t figure it out.

Then one yelled over to his buddy, “Hey, is that the new Prius?”

“Yeah,” the other kid confirmed.

“Cool.”

I was pretty shocked. I never would’ve thought an eco-friendly, four-door sedan with no style whatsoever would look “cool” to a preteen kid. Of course, as much fun as I had with my old car, I’m pretty sure all the fuel burnt feeding the Impala’s 327 probably could’ve been put to better use. But at least I have my memories. The old days when the only Green Movement that mattered was the Curtis Green movement and my big hooptie attracted stares, not glares and dirty looks.

One thought on “The changing of things.

  1. Mike Schmidt says:

    My best friend had a 72 Impala. We could fit 6 people in it, comfortably. It had so much horsepower and speed it was kinda scary for such a big ass car. I can’t tell you how much fun we had in that car, and how much gas we burned. Of course, back then, gas was about a $1 a gallon, so no loss, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

