Worse than a lump of coal.

It’s the thought that counts, no doubt. But one Christmas, back when I was roughly ten-years-old, I remember one of my Aunts presenting us with gifts that put this old adage to the test.

Wrapped nicely, the package was deceiving in every way. It looked like a toy truck. It felt like a toy truck. However, when we tore the paper off, we found that we’d been gifted a bar of soap—shaped like a toy truck.

I tried to push out a smile and be polite. I did my best to play with it, but it didn’t roll. I don’t recall what we ever did with the monster truck soap, but I’m pretty sure we never used it for cleaning or playing.

Leave a Reply

