Under construction.

Three years of huffing paint, driving nails and drilling holes. Three years and the sharp sting of regret comes and goes. Three years since we sat down at Ticor Title Company, sifted through a mountain of paperwork and signed our lives away to the mortgage gods.

I’ve learned a lot along the way. Pay attention to what you’re taking apart before you take it apart just in case you have to put it back together. Take notes. Take advice. Take breaks for beer, water and hugs from sympathetic wives (not in that particular order). The right Google search terms can answer just about any question.  Never paint a room brown. Never set a screwdriver on a window sash. No matter how ugly whatever you tore out may be, someone will dig it out of the dumpster. Primer doesn’t cover up everything. Nothing in an old house matches up with the directions you get in the package. NOTHING.

All this and I’d like to say I’m done working on our condo. I’d like to take a bow. But if homeownership has taught me anything, I’ve learned the obligations and obsessions will probably never end. There will always be something. Broken. Crooked. Fading. Dirty. Dripping. Rotten. Rat infested. But for now, I will say that I’m at least taking a break from fixtures, paint trays and late-night, wide-eyed projects with no end in sight.

Yeah, I’ve learned a lot along the way. Now the real question is whether or not I have anything to show for it.

2 thoughts on “Under construction.

  1. tina says:

    You are done with house repairs and I am done with school (for 6 weeks). THIS MUST BE FATE.

    Drop you a line when I’m back from Kansas. I need a trip to Edgewater Lounge.

  2. Janessa says:

    Congratulations, Mr. Green! Crack open a beer and make yourself a pork chop. Summer’s coming and it’s time to relax!

Leave a Reply

