Observation notes from a hypocrite.

As a late adopter and still skeptical new member of the social network known as Facebook, I’ve been busy overanalyzing the state of modern times. As my “friend” confirmations continue to appear via email on my phone and my laptop, I have to ask myself whether the whole thing is too easy. I can be your “friend” without really doing anything but clicking a button and occasionally making a quirky comment on your “wall.”

I know I’m not the first to fret. I realize questions like this have been posed before. But I believe our day-to-day social skills could be at risk if our relationships with one another are reduced to text messages, web links and online photo galleries. It’s my genuine fear that as we become more connected to the world, we’re simultaneously becoming more DISCONNECTED from reality.

Of course, you’ll be reading this on my blog. Which you probably never knew existed until you visited my Facebook page. And I’ll be momentarily flattered when I check my WordPress dashboard and discover that all 91 of my confirmed “friends” have read this post. But before that whole cycle begins, I hope we can all stop and consider how we got to know each other in the first place. Whether it was a face-to-face conversation, a bike ride or a drinking binge at the Edgewater, it was some kind of human interaction that Facebook simply cannot offer. And I can only hope that I’ll see you again soon. Not on my “wall” but maybe on my deck. Eating barbeque. From my smoker.

3 thoughts on “Observation notes from a hypocrite.

  1. Janessa says:

    Curtis, I feel the same! In fact, I have seen it happen in my own personal relationships, as important information (and sometimes fights, which is terrible) are conducted over Facebook or text messages. Talking is eliminated because it’s tedious and annoying, compared to the zero-effort required methods available now. It’s terrible. I’ve tried to quit Facebook a few times now, but you just end up missing so much… it seems like that’s the only way people do business lately. I’ve found out about friends’ deaths, the birth of new babies, and new engagements, all on Facebook. Isn’t that sad?

  2. Mike Schmidt says:

    BBQ? Is that an invitation? I’ll bring the beer!

  3. Tom Kober says:

    This is somewhat ironic, as I was going to look you up on Facebook and “add you as a friend”. Then I thought, “Well I’ve only met Curtis once around a campfire in Madison. That’s kinda weird. I’ll leave this social interaction strictly to reading his blog.”

    With that said, I’m thankful today for having the time to lie in bed and get caught up on your writings. It’s a great read, and I’m glad that I’m not the only one who thinks quite often about the apparent random in his life, only to realize that it’s not so random at all, and just another thread in the fabric of life.

Leave a Reply

