Sunny disposition.

For the last ten days, we’ve been completely spoiled by friends, family and familiarity. Now as we look forward to heading back to Chicago, I’m starting to run through the list of things I’m going to miss.

First, we’ve enjoyed a complete lack of responsibility for taking care of the dog. My dad has kindly walked, pooped, peed and fed Jezebelle for the last week and a half. Needless to say, they’ve developed quite a bond.

The second thing I’ll miss falls in the category of food and drink. Specifically, Free State beer and the wide array of decent barbeque restaurants. If you know what I’m talking about, you know exactly what I mean. If not, you’ll just have to make the trip down and see for yourself.

Finally, I’m going to miss all the time I’ve been able to spend with the sun. I know it sounds silly. I realize the sun shines in the city. The difference between here and there is a simple matter of surroundings. In the city, tall buildings and trees have a way of closing a person in. But down here the great wide open spaces allow a person to see for miles as the day unfolds. Not only does it offer a great free show, it also serves as a great reminder how small we are in the great scheme of things.

One thought on “Sunny disposition.

  1. Jamie says:

    I’ve missed the darkness of night. And the food and the beer. Korean beer is *awful*.

    Looking forward to seeing you guys tonight!

Leave a Reply

