The greasy path to my heart.

I’m a sucker for a great old sign, especially when they’re old restaurant signs. And assuming the sign is hanging from an establishment that’s still in business, I’ll consider eating food that wouldn’t normally have much appeal to my border-line-hoity-toity, sushi-loving, somewhat-refined palate.

Anyway, a few weeks back I had an hour to spare when I passed one of the two Town Topics near downtown KC. I’d been plotting a trip for a long time and finally had the perfect opportunity to sneak in and see if the burger was as delightful as the signage that had caught my eye so many times before.

I’m happy to report that the staff and the food blew my mind. The genuinely friendly folks behind the counter made me feel right at home and my stool in the window was the perfect spot to take a second and watch to world slowly go by. My double cheese with fries was ready in about five minutes and just a little more delicious than I might have expected. A good, solid meal provided by good, solid people.

Perhaps the best part of the whole experience was the conversation I overheard between the cook and one of the waitresses as I was getting ready to leave.

“I thought you wore glasses,” the waitress said to the cook as he flipped a burger.

“I usually do,” he said looking up from the grill, “but when I’m cooking I can actually see better without them.”

“How so?” she pressed.

“Well, when I wear my glasses and cook, they just get covered in grease!” he said, as they all started laughing.

I was charmed beyond belief. I dropped in on a whim and discovered a small slice of life. I can’t wait to go back, but it’s going to require some careful planning. Everything’s gotta be just right—otherwise it’s not worth the risk of ruining the memory of the first encounter.

Leave a Reply

