This old world.

Now that I’m officially bike commuting again, I get to work early. I mean turn on the lights, flip on the coffee maker early. Not only does it give me a few minutes to cool off, get settled and reply to email, it means I cross paths with other early morning types who I may not otherwise encounter. Case in point: The building maintenance guy.

“Good morning,” I said as I stood in the entryway today waiting for the elevator. In the back of my mind, I wondered if it was cool that I had my Bianchi in the building and I started to brace myself for a lecture.

“Nice day for a ride,” he responded, flashing a smile from behind his gray beard. “I’d be tempted to take that bike outside and just keep going…”

For a second, I had a fleeting vision of where I’d go if I decided to skip a day in the office for a day on a bicycle. There were parks. There were coffee shops. There were well-stocked bars with whiskey shots and Boulevard beer.

“Yeah, that’d be nice,” I said in lame response just as the elevator arrived and the doors sprung open.

Happy Friday to all. Enjoy your days no matter where you find yourself.

Freedom? Or just a great way to get to the office?

Leave a Reply

