Nice Buick.

After practically seven years of putting it off, I’ve finally started the process of backing up all the files on my ancient, personal computer. As with most organizational tasks, it’s easy to get distracted along the way. Especially when old pictures are involved.

This shot of Grandma & Grandpa posing in front of Grandma’s Buick stopped me in my tracks. I don’t remember taking it or scanning it in. I feel like I’ve never seen it before. And yet it lives on my hard drive. In a folder. Clearly labeled “Pictures of G&G.”

I suppose hard drives are a lot like brains and files are a lot like memories. Some stand out and some exist just below the surface. Seemingly insignificant until time and our ever-changing point of view bring them to the surface—reminding us of things we’ve learned, those we’ve loved and those we’ve lost.

Happy Friday, computer people. Don’t forget to back up your memories and recount your files. After all, today is important, but it’ll seem a whole lot more interesting tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Nice Buick.

  1. Dan says:

    Damn. That was pretty deep, man. Puts my Friday morning in perspective a little bit.

    I hope those kids had some fun in that Buick. Hope you have some fun this long weekend.

Leave a Reply

