Success.

When I was little, my grandpa used to go through this routine when we arrived at their house for a visit. It started with a series of questions. “Do you have any money?” was usually the first and “are you a boy or a girl” was another you could always count on.

Like so many things in life, it was funny until about age 10, annoying until about 16 or 17 and then funny again by the time I hit my early 20s. He’d usually cap the interrogation with a final statement, delivered the same way each time, “you’re a good boy…when you’re asleep.”

I was out with Woody last night. After a long walk around the neighborhood, we came home and played fetch in the backyard for an hour or so. When it comes to chasing a ball, the little critter is almost insatiable. But eventually I succeeded in wearing him out and he crashed at my feet. I looked down at his furry little body and thought to myself, “you’re a good dog…when you’re asleep.”

Woods on Deck

Leave a Reply

