This could be a blessing.

Time is a precious commodity. It doesn’t matter what you do for a living, how many kids you have or how many different organizations you belong to—our days are packed with events, activities and obligations. It’s the nature of life as we know it. Sitting still is quietly forbidden and can often lead to questions regarding your mental state. “He hasn’t left the house all weekend…I wonder what he’s doing in there…”

Getting sick is one outstanding exception to the rule. Evil germs morphing into nausea, sore throats and painful coughs can be the catalyst for justified do-nothing days. Days where showers are optional, shaving is out of the question and cable TV is your friend.

I started fighting a mild cold on Thursday. When I woke up on Friday, I determined that my snot levels were way beyond normal. Rather than taking my germs to work, I decided to blow my nose all day at home instead of the office. As promised in a quick note to my coworkers, I checked my email periodically and made sure to reply when necessary.

I also started reading a book and a magazine. I drew a picture or two. Brushing dust off the cover, I jotted a few things down in my neglected journal. I did two loads of laundry and cleaned out a closet. I looked at old cars on the H.A.M.B. and even posted a few pictures of my own. By the time Cristi got home, I felt like I’d had a productive sick day. It doesn’t matter if you have mucus running down your face when your only task is pulling old clothes off hangers and reading hot rod articles.

Getting sick is never a good thing, but spending a few days at home trying to reclaim your physical health could help with your mental health, too.

Leave a Reply

