Exotic getaway.

When someone mentions going away on vacation, I see all sorts of stereotypical postcard situations in my mind.

Beaches. Mountains. Log cabins with sudsy hot tubs, lit by soft candlelight and amazing sunsets.

So when my mom suggested that I travel to Kansas City a few months back for the 2015 NSRA Mid-America Street Rod Nationals, an entirely different set of scenarios started rolling through my brain.

No pastoral scenes. Just flame jobs, chopped tops, burnt rubber and the smell of gasoline rising into the air.

Despite a terrible forecast and threatening clouds overhead, my trip to the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds in Springfield, MO was everything I was hoping for. Definitely worth a trip halfway across the country.

Here are a few shots from my adventure. There were planes, trains and as you can see here, lots of automobiles.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Exotic getaway.

  1. Fergus Gold Post says:

    great cars – especially the woody! 🙂

Leave a Reply

