Sneeze.

Through a whole series of routine-altering events, I’ve been riding the bus a lot lately. As a Midwesterner born and raised, I still marvel at the convenience of public transportation. Even when it’s crowded, and people are farting, and some random person is scarfing down Cheetos at 8:15 AM, I’m still amazed that I can get from point A to point B without touching a steering wheel.

I’ve been on a schedule—which means I’m sharing my time with others who are on a schedule as well. Most choose not to acknowledge familiar faces or simply don’t pay any attention, but I always find some comfort in seeing a few people I recognize.

There’s one rider in particular that I always appreciate. She’s short, friendly and has Down syndrome. She always smiles my direction when I get on and, without fail, she always says “bless you” after someone sneezes. Not only have I always admired the gesture, I’m impressed with her diligence. It doesn’t matter who it is or how far away they are from where she’s sitting, she’s always on top of the situation.

It’s not every day that I encounter people who make me want to be a better person, but the “bless you” girl has made me stop and reconsider the boundaries of my silly urban bubble.

Happy Friday, friends. May your weekend be #blessed with more than meaningless hashtags.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

